- The Master Ground Water Contractor examination fee is USD 75, with no separate member or nonmember tier stated for the initial exam.
- Annual MGWC maintenance costs USD 75 for active NGWA members or USD 175 for nonmembers, plus seven continuing education points.
- The exam is a single four-hour session, taken at Groundwater Week or at NGWA headquarters in Westerville, Ohio, with 30 days' notice.
- Your biggest cost is usually not the fee but the prerequisite certifications, travel, time away from the business, and prep materials.
The MGWC Cost Picture at a Glance
If you search for the price of the Master Ground Water Contractor credential, the headline number is refreshingly small. The National Ground Water Association (NGWA) charges a USD 75 examination fee for the master-level assessment. That is a fraction of what many professional credentials cost, and it is the one figure on this page you can treat as firm.
The honest total, however, is larger than the fee. A master-level contractor has already invested years in the field and in earlier NGWA certifications, will probably travel to Ohio or to Groundwater Week, and needs to block out a four-hour sitting. Then there are annual maintenance fees that continue for as long as you hold the designation. This guide separates the verified numbers from the costs that vary by person, and it flags the items NGWA has not published so you do not budget around guesses.
| Cost item | Amount | Status |
|---|---|---|
| MGWC examination fee | USD 75 | Published by NGWA |
| Annual maintenance fee, active NGWA member | USD 75 | Published by NGWA |
| Annual maintenance fee, nonmember | USD 175 | Published by NGWA |
| Professional Designations Study Guide, downloadable (D940) | USD 35 member / USD 45 nonmember | Published catalog price |
| Professional Designations Study Guide, print (K940) | USD 45 member / USD 55 nonmember | Published catalog price |
| Retake fee and wait period | Not verified | Confirm with NGWA |
| Travel, lodging, time off work | Varies | Your situation |
For a broader look at what the credential involves beyond price, see the MGWC certification overview and the detailed MGWC requirements guide.
The $75 Examination Fee
The master page lists a single examination fee of USD 75. It does not describe a separate member and nonmember price for the initial exam, so do not assume a discount structure that NGWA has not stated. If you are an NGWA member, the member-versus-nonmember distinction matters most later, at renewal time.
What the fee buys
The fee covers one administration of the master assessment. The exam itself is a single session of four consecutive hours and is made up mostly of essay questions with some multiple-choice items. The passing score is 70%. NGWA has not publicly specified the current question total or the split between scored and unscored items, so any source quoting a precise question count for today's revised exam is going beyond what the issuer has published. For a closer look at the scoring threshold, read what you need to pass the MGWC exam.
Who administers it
Unlike the category exams that many contractors take at PSI test centers, the master assessment is arranged by NGWA directly. No outside testing company is named for it. That affects your costs in a practical way: instead of picking the nearest commercial test center, you test at Groundwater Week or by arrangement throughout the year at NGWA headquarters in Westerville, Ohio. Either option requires at least 30 days of advance scheduling.
Hidden Costs Before You Qualify
The cost of becoming eligible is where most of your money and time actually goes. To sit the master assessment, NGWA requires current certification in good standing in all required exam categories except M and N (Augering and monitoring, and Well servicing and maintenance). You also need at least five years of full-time well-construction or pump-installation experience in an operational or supervisory role, along with demonstrated technical, customer-service, communication and employee-relations competence.
There is no master-specific degree requirement and no fixed training-hour minimum that has been verified, which keeps tuition costs out of the picture. But if you hold some category certifications and not others, closing the gaps carries real cost.
Filling certification gaps
Each category exam you still need is its own expense, and each has its own preparation time. The underlying contractor-certification pathway has its own requirements: candidates generally pass two qualifying examinations within one 12-month period at 70% or better, supply two professional references from outside the current company, sign an agreement and a current-year affidavit, and submit application materials within 12 months of the qualifying exam session. Those base requirements do not replace the master-level prerequisites; they are the groundwork you must already have in place.
If you are missing several categories, treat the master exam as the last step of a longer, staggered spending plan rather than a single USD 75 purchase. The MGWC requirements guide walks through the eligibility map in detail, including the M and N exceptions that other sources frequently get wrong.
Key Takeaway
Count your missing category certifications before you count anything else. If you already hold all the required ones except M and N, your remaining costs are modest. If you are several exams short, those exams, not the master fee, are your real budget.
Scheduling and Travel Costs
Because testing happens at Groundwater Week or at NGWA headquarters in Westerville, Ohio, travel can become the largest single line item for candidates who do not live nearby. NGWA does not publish a travel subsidy, so plan for transportation and, if needed, lodging and meals out of pocket.
Groundwater Week versus a private arrangement
Groundwater Week is a natural fit if you were already planning to attend the event for networking, equipment, and continuing education. Testing there lets you combine the exam with activities you may be paying for anyway, and it can also earn you continuing education points toward future renewals, depending on the activity. The trade-off is that you test on the event's timeline and need to be ready on that schedule.
Arranging a date at the Westerville headquarters gives you more control over when you sit, which can help if you want to schedule around the slow season of your business. Either way, you need to give NGWA at least 30 days of notice, so book early enough that you are not paying premium last-minute airfare. Our guide to MGWC exam dates and scheduling covers the windows and deadlines in more detail.
The cost of four hours away from the business
Many MGWC candidates run or supervise crews. A four-hour exam, plus travel and a day or two of preparation, means lost billable time. This is hard to put a number on, but it deserves a line in your budget. Scheduling in a quieter season is a cost-control strategy as much as a convenience.
Preparation Materials and What They Cost
NGWA does not require any specific training course for the master exam, which keeps mandatory preparation spending low. Still, most candidates buy at least one resource. Here is what the publicly listed options cost, and what you should know before buying.
Official NGWA Press study guide
The Professional Designations Information and Study Guide (NGWA Press, 2019, 200 pages) explicitly includes MGWC. It is sold in two formats:
- Downloadable (catalog D940): USD 35 for members, USD 45 for nonmembers.
- Print (catalog K940): USD 45 for members, USD 55 for nonmembers.
Public descriptions mention competency information, self-assessment, glossaries, test-taking tips, and four sample questions per exam. The book is dated 2019, and NGWA's own page describes a revised exam without naming the revision year. That means the guide is a useful framework but may not map perfectly to every current exam area, so pair it with the six published competency areas. Our guide to all six MGWC content areas lays them out with their weights.
Third-party practice and study resources
Several independent sites offer MGWC practice questions and guides, some free and some paid. Prices vary by vendor and are not standardized, so check each current listing. A few cautions are worth keeping in mind when you spend money here:
- A large "question bank" does not tell you how long the real exam is. NGWA has not published the current question total, so vendor claims about "actual" exam length are not authoritative.
- Some resources mislabel the M and N category exams as MGWC components, or restate renewal as seven continuing education units or classroom hours. Neither is correct; renewal uses continuing education points.
- Marketplace uploads and used study books establish that a product exists, not that it is accurate, current, or aligned to the revised exam.
For a plan that ties materials to the calendar, see the MGWC study guide. You can also practice with exam-style questions on our main practice test site.
A realistic prep-spend range
Because the required materials are optional and vendor pricing varies, we will not invent a total. What can be said is that a candidate who buys the official download, relies on their field experience, and uses free practice questions can keep preparation spending quite low, while one who stacks several paid banks and a printed guide will spend more with diminishing returns. The right amount depends on how long you have been away from formal test-taking and how comfortable you are writing structured essay answers.
Annual Renewal Fees and CEP Costs
Earning the credential is not a one-time payment. MGWC certification requires annual maintenance, and this recurring cost is easy to overlook when you are focused on the exam.
The renewal fee
The current annual MGWC fees are USD 75 for active NGWA members and USD 175 for nonmembers. These fees are separate from membership dues. If you are not already a member, compare the extra USD 100 you would pay each year as a nonmember against the cost of joining; depending on how much you use NGWA's other benefits, membership may offset itself, though you should confirm current dues before deciding.
Continuing education points
Each annual renewal requires seven continuing education points (CEPs), along with the renewal fee, professional standards, and a signed contractor affidavit. Qualifying instructional training generally earns one CEP per hour, but conventions, presentations and other activities follow different point rules, so do not assume seven classroom hours automatically equals seven CEPs. Industry safety training is capped at three CEPs per annual renewal, which means you cannot satisfy the whole requirement through safety courses alone.
The cost of earning CEPs depends entirely on how you choose to earn them. Some contractors accumulate points through events and training they would attend anyway; others pay for additional courses. Plan this as a yearly line item.
Deadlines and the late-fee wrinkle
Renewal requirements are due December 31 in the expiration year. A newly certified individual begins reporting in the following calendar year; NGWA's example shows that a 2026 recipient has a first expiration of December 31, 2027. The live maintenance page allows receipt through January 31 without a late fee.
The currently linked two-page renewal form, titled 2027 NGWA Voluntary Certification Renewal, contains an internal inconsistency worth knowing about. Page 1 says USD 50 is added after December 31, while page 2 says applications are accepted without a late fee through January 31, 2027, which matches the live renewal page. Do not rely on the ambiguity: submit by December 31 and keep your confirmation, and if you need the grace period, check with NGWA first.
Retakes: What Is and Is Not Published
This is the area where candidates most want a firm number and where we cannot give one. NGWA's master page does not state a separate current MGWC retake fee, a mandatory wait period, or an attempt limit. General statements on NGWA's certification FAQ about immediate scores and no retake wait concern the broader category-exam pathway, not the master assessment, so they should not be assumed to apply here.
Practically, that means two things for your budget. First, treat your initial USD 75 as a single attempt and do not assume a cheap or immediate retake. Second, contact NGWA before you book travel to ask how a retake would be handled, because a retake could mean a second trip to Westerville or a second wait for an event. If you want to understand how likely a first-time pass is and what the data does and does not show, read MGWC pass rate: what the data shows and how hard the MGWC exam is.
Building Your Own MGWC Budget
Rather than quote a total that would be partly invented, here is a framework you can fill in with your own numbers. Work through each line and you will have a defensible estimate before you commit.
One-time costs
Everything you pay to reach and pass the exam.
- Examination fee: USD 75.
- Any missing category certifications and their exam fees.
- Study guide: USD 35 to USD 55 depending on format and membership.
- Optional third-party practice material, priced per vendor.
- Travel, lodging and meals to Westerville or Groundwater Week.
- Time away from the business for the exam and any travel days.
Recurring annual costs
What you pay every year to keep the designation.
- Annual fee: USD 75 as an active NGWA member or USD 175 as a nonmember.
- NGWA membership dues, if you choose to join (separate from the annual fee).
- Seven CEPs, earned through training, events or other qualifying activity.
A short, MGWC-specific timeline to control spend
Spending less often comes down to sequencing. Tie your effort to the exam's weighting so you do not overbuy material for lighter areas:
Business management (30%)
- Practice writing structured essay answers on operations, staffing, customer relations and risk.
- Use your own company's real situations as raw material; this costs nothing.
Troubleshooting and diagnostics (25%)
- Work through failure scenarios step by step, naming symptoms, causes and corrective actions.
Drilling operations and water systems (15% each), then water quality and sustainability (10%) and emerging issues (5%)
- Refresh fundamentals from the study guide and confirm you can write about them, not just recognize them.
For the full study approach, including how to pace a four-hour essay-heavy sitting, see the MGWC study guide, and keep the MGWC cheat sheet handy for last-minute review.
Cost Versus Return
It is tempting to weigh the credential's cost against a salary bump, but the evidence does not support a precise figure. No MGWC-holder salary series, compensation survey, or causal credential premium has been verified. For broader occupational context only, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a 2025 median annual wage of USD 60,190 for earth drillers, except oil and gas. That number describes a wider occupation, not Master Ground Water Contractors, and it says nothing about business-owner profit or company revenue.
The more defensible way to think about return is qualitative. Certification is voluntary, individual, and separate from state licensing; it is not a company certification. Its value tends to show up in credibility with customers, employers and inspectors, and in demonstrating mastery across business and technical competencies. Whether that translates into higher income depends on your market and role. Our MGWC salary guide and is MGWC certification worth it analysis separate occupational pay from any unproven premium so you can judge for yourself, and MGWC jobs covers where the credential tends to matter.
Key Takeaway
At USD 75 for the exam, the direct price is low. Judge the investment by your total spend on prerequisites, travel and annual upkeep, weighed against practical benefits like credibility and demonstrated competence, not against a promised raise that no source has verified.
Frequently Asked Questions
The published examination fee is USD 75. NGWA's master page does not list a separate member or nonmember price for the initial exam. Travel, preparation materials and any prerequisite certifications are additional and vary by candidate.
The annual fee is USD 75 for active NGWA members and USD 175 for nonmembers, separate from membership dues. You also need seven continuing education points, the professional standards, and a signed contractor affidavit by December 31, with receipt allowed through January 31 without a late fee.
A separate current MGWC retake fee, wait period and attempt limit have not been verified. General retake statements on NGWA's FAQ refer to the broader category-exam pathway, so ask NGWA directly before booking if a retake is a concern.
The master assessment is offered at Groundwater Week or by arrangement throughout the year at NGWA headquarters in Westerville, Ohio, with at least 30 days' advance scheduling. Because there is no network of local test centers for it, travel can be a meaningful part of your total cost.
No specific purchase is required. The NGWA Press Professional Designations Information and Study Guide is optional and priced at USD 35 to USD 55 depending on format and membership. It is dated 2019, so use it alongside the six published competency areas rather than as a complete picture of the revised exam.
Taken together, the Master Ground Water Contractor credential is inexpensive to take but not free to earn or keep. Budget for the USD 75 exam, the path to eligibility, a trip to Ohio, modest preparation spending, and the yearly fee and continuing education that follow. When you are ready to test your knowledge, start with our MGWC practice tests and check what MGWC certification is if you are still sizing up the credential.